Northbridge – our suburb
Northbridge is a peninsula suburb, surrounded on three sides by the calm waters of Middle Harbour, a major branch of Sydney Harbour. The suburb is seven kilometres from the CBD of Sydney and enjoys a regular bus service to the city. A bicycle path connects the suburb to other parts of Willoughby and North Sydney.
Northbridge is close to the city yet has 47 hectares of natural bushland in Clive Park, which also contains the active Northbridge Sailing Club and Northbridge Boat Shed.
The 46 hectare area known as Northbridge Park is home to Northbridge Oval, a Scout Hall, Guide Hall, an 18-hole Golf Course and clubhouse, a War Memorial, multi-use courts, a bike track, Willoughby Men’s Shed and large areas of natural bushland.
The suburb also has a splendid, 50-metre fenced harbour swimming baths and dressing sheds in Widgiewa Rd. Entry is free.
The Discover Northbridge brochure provides two main routes to allow you and your family to ‘discover Northbridge’ by foot or bicycle, or even by car. There are also summaries of three bush walking routes in the suburb. Please enjoy.
Information in regard our social makeup can be found at:
Schools, Clubs and Services
- Northbridge Public School
- St Philip Neri School
- Shore School(Early Learning Centre & K-2)
- Northside Baptist Pre-school
- St Marks Pre-school
Sport & Leisure Clubs
- Northbridge Bowling Club
- Northbridge Cricket Club
- Northbridge Football Club
- Northbridge Golf Club
- Northbridge Netball Club
- Northbridge Sailing Club
- Northbridge Scouts
- Northbridge Swimming Club
- Northbridge Tennis Club
- Rotary Club of Northbridge
Local Services and facilities
Key local government & council information
- Willoughby City Council
- Willoughby District Historical Society
- Willoughby Environmental Protection Association Inc.
Historical information about Northbridge
Northbridge’s Aboriginal heritage
A powerful Aboriginal clan named the Camaraigals was seen by Governor Phillip and his party when they visited Middle Harbour in mid-1788. The clan roamed the bushland and fished in Middle Harbour up to the 1820s. By the 1850s there were no Aboriginals living their traditional lifestyle in the area. Rock engravings and other signs of past habitation have been found on the Northbridge peninsula but they are protected and not available to the public. Shell middens can still be found along the foreshore in Clive Park.
European settlement of Northbridge
The first Crown grant of land in the Northbridge peninsula was made in 1837 at what is now Clive Park. The second grant was at Fig Tree Point. All the remaining land on the peninsula was auctioned by the Crown in 1855 and 1856.
The peninsula was divided into 38 subdivisions ranging in area from six to 20 acres. Some isolated houses were built in the 1860s and 1870s. By the 1880s, most of the original grantees of the land had sold to new owners, who in turn sold to land development companies which were preparing to build the Suspension Bridge over Long Bay.
In the early 1900s several subdivisions were auctioned on the western side of the peninsula, notably in Harden Ave and Eric St (now Eastern Valley Way). It was not until 1913 that a subdivision used the name ‘Northbridge’ for the first time, referring to the north side of the Suspension Bridge.